Början av 2000-talet

-what the afterworld will be saying about these days

Celebrating dayends

Posted by Pia på måndag 9 juli 2007

Everyday in Palestine I listen to people’s struggles coping with the different faces of occupation. I see and hear about new ways of harassing human beings. Still, that’s not all there is about this place.

I met a guy in Ramallah who had big news, he had finally gotten everything organised to move to his new wife in London. (Which in turn could lead him to obtain an EU passport, which could give him rights that he as a Palestinian doesn’t have) But he was not just happy about this. He says he will miss Palestine, and this is why: In Europe, he told me, you work all week and get home late, waiting for the weekend, when you have to make the most of it, drinking, seeing people or whatever. In Palestine, it’s normal to finish work at 2 pm. After that it’s common to take a rest for an hour or two, eat a snack, and then you have all night to do something else. ”You celebrate weekends, we celebrate dayends”. And he is SO right. Ever since I came I have not managed to stay in one single night. If we don’t go to somebody’s home, we meet up for coffee, go people-watching in the mall, or just stroll the crowded Ramallah streets filled with children, parents, falafel vendors, and the smell of fruits and spices. At 9 or 10 pm, we go home and eat a dinner of pita bread with hummus, labbaneh, tabbouleh, olives, tomatos, white cheese and herbs.

4 svar to “Celebrating dayends”

  1. Om det itne hade varit för allt elände i palestina så hade det nog varit riktigt soft.

  2. funderar said

    Tack Björn, jag ar av samma asikt! Det blir sa latt att det bara handlar om elande, men det ar inte allt liksom. For mej ar det faktiskt lite svart att avgora vad jag ska skriva mera om: dels finns det allt som ar sa fel och orattvist, dels ar livet har alldeles fantastiskt berikande med manniskor som frikostigt delar med sig av mat och husrum och livshistorier. Skriver jag om det goda livet sa kanske man far uppfattningen att har inte ar sarskilt jobbigt att leva, och skriver jag om ockupationen sa tanker man att allt bara ar krig. 1000 intryck per dag. Men det ar hursomhelst ett jattefint land. Pia

  3. Maja said

    Sluta jobba två på eftermiddagen för att hinna umgås med folk? Whoa! Läge att ta efter palestinierna, säger jag. En sådan inställning till livet skulle jag kunna vänja mig vid! (Desto skarpare står sedan kontrasten till allt det som de står ut med som jag INTE skulle vilja vänja mig vid.)

  4. funderar said

    Nackdelen ar da kanske att de som slutar tva oftast jobbar sex dagar i veckan. Men samtidigt ar torsdagen (dagen innan man ar ledig) en dag da man tar det lite extra lugnt. Idag sa min kollega att hon ”tror att hon sticker fran jobbet strax efter elva”. Men haller med. Livet blir lite intensivare pa dethar sattet.

Kommentera

 
