Början av 2000-talet

-what the afterworld will be saying about these days

Another myth busted

Posted by Pia på torsdag 5 juli 2007

Was walking down a hot Ramallah street yesterday with my Palestinian homies, when we passed a group of kids playing and riding their bicycles. They shouted something at me, which my friends translated as ”Hello, how are you?” in Hebrew. They thought I was Israeli. And I was pretty surprised. Wasn’t it true that all Palestinian kids learn to hate the Israelis before they learn to read and write? That’s certainly what I had heard in the media. Not a single one of them picked up a rock to throw at me, instead they smiled.

I asked my friends about this, and they said that there are kids who hate Israelis. But that they are mostly the ones who have had someone in the family killed or sent to jail by them. And sadly, that’s not rare at all.

Kommentera

 
