Början av 2000-talet

-what the afterworld will be saying about these days

New grounds

Posted by Pia på torsdag 3 maj 2007

Hello! Here it is, finally. Read the story to the right. In this blog I will mostly be focusing on endings to the phrase ”Imagine that 50 years ago, in 2005 …”, and ideas I get from reading them. I would love it if you left a comment! Any new endings to the phrase are very welcome. I would like to make this a bilingual blog (Swedish + English), but it’s all kind of an experiment so let’s see.

Now, there’s one thing that has been mentioned a couple of times as an ending to the phrase, and it has to do with migration. I believe that certain things about human nature are pretty universal. I think us Homo Sapiens enjoy it the most when we sit around in little groups, talking, doing things like touching each others’ hairs and feeling that we are needed. I also think moving around is very human. Sometimes picking up a suitcase (or a pillowcase) with just some important things and trying out new grounds. If someone told me I had to stay in my country for the rest of my life I would be extremely frustrated. Now imagine that on top of that, there wasn’t any job for me here, that I was being persecuted or threatened, or that my land was being ruined because of no rains or deforestation. You probably see where I’m going here.

I really hope that in 2055 we will be saying: I can’t believe that 50 years ago, we were still building walls around the rich parts of this world, and Finland had a system of ”B-permits”. A B-permit allows a refugee to stay temporarily, but not to work, study or get any social security. It is mostly given to people from Somalia, Iraq and Afghanistan, and the reason that they are not sent back is that it is practically impossible. Many of these are children, often under-aged boys (I would really like to meet the person who came up with this idea: when was it ever smart to leave a bunch of 16-year-old boys hanging around feeling miserable with nothing to do? Really?). There’s a Finnish campaign to get all B-permits to be normal resident permits, sign it here (in Finnish). Also, I have a feeling I will be coming back to this topic. Until then. Take care of yourselves and touch each others’ hairs.

Kommentera

 
